Spring 2014 One-Day Conference

Join us on Saturday, May 17, 2014 at Northwest Christian University in Eugene for our Spring 2014 One-Day Conference! Our keynote speaker this spring is noted author Jane Kirkpatrick. Stay tuned to the website for details, and be sure to follow us on FaceBook to receive updates, too! You’ll find us at http://www.facebook.com/OregonChristianWriters.

Writing Out of Abundance

Jane Kirkpatrick1Jane Kirkpatrick is a writer, speaker, teacher, and inspiring mentor. She is a weaver of stories, a homesteader, and a cherished Northwest novelist.

She grew up in a little town close to the Mississippi River. Jane lived close to dozens of cousins, and her extended family told and retold shared family experiences. She received a master’s degree in social work and moved to Oregon in 1974. Jane later became a mental health and educational consultant for 17 years on the Warm Springs Indian Reservation.

The settings that draw her readers feature homesteading and include her recounting of “clearing sagebrush and wrestling wind and rattlesnakes” while living on the John Day River in a remote part of Central Oregon known as Starvation Point. Jane’s 26 years of pioneering experience seeped into her pores and spilled out in her writings. She attempted to grow watermelons, grapes, and alfalfa and raise cattle. Her home sat seven miles from a mailbox and 11 miles from the pavement. Jane is certain divine healing and transformation come from these stories.

Jane is recognized internationally for her lively presentations and well-researched novels. Her work has appeared in more than 50 publications including Decision, Private Pilot, and Daily Guideposts. Jane is the author of 20 books, including 17 historicals. Many of her titles are based on the lives of real people or incidents set in the authentic American West. Her first novel, A Sweetness to the Soul, won the Wrangler Award. Her novels have finaled for the Christy, Spur, Oregon Book Award, WILLA Literary Award, and Reader’s Choice Awards. Some of her titles have been Book of the Month and Literary Guild selections.

A Tendering in the Storm won the 2007 WILLA Literary Award for Best Original Paperback and A Flickering Light, a story based on her grandmother’s life as a turn-of-the-century photographer, was named to Library Journal’s Best Books of 2009.

Book List

Dream Catcher Series One Glorious Ambition

Kinship & Courage Series Log Cabin Christmas

Tender Ties Series The Midwife’s Legacy

Change & Cherish Series Sincerely Yours

Portrait of the Heart Series Homestead

A Land of Sheltered Promise A Simple Gift of Comfort

The Daughter’s Walk Aurora: An American Experience in Quilt

Barcelona Calling Promises of Hope for Difficult Times

Where Lilacs Still Bloom